Mixtape #1: A Secret Song Softly Running Out

by Andrew Patterson

I’ve been toiling over a borrowed tape deck for the last few weeks preparing a new batch of mixtapes. I started compiling the tracklists months ago, but am only just now beginning to dub them. There is a Night Flea Market at The Khyber on November 26th, which provided me with the deadline I needed to actually get to work on them: I’ll be hocking these beauties (12 different mixtapes available) and DJing whilst the great people of Halifax shop for the finest of the finest.

Leading up to the flea, I’ll be posting tracklists with some preview links:

Gil Scott-Heron – Running

(From his first album in 16 years, and what turned out to be his last. I got obsessed with this spoken word track this past summer. The whole album is really great; so pure and honest.)

Reet Hendrikson – Reet

(An eerily beautiful collection of Estonian folk lullabies from a teenaged girl, recorded in 1969. I discovered it by way of the venerable Holy Warbles.)

The Staple Singers – Why? (Am I Treated So Bad)

(A group every single person should probably familiarize themselves with. Freedom Highway is where you’ll find the version that appears on this tape, along with 20 other essential gospel pop songs.)

